EvO-XD: Delts

Today I was back in the gym after a little bit of time off.

Although I knew it was going to be tough to use the same kind of poundage that i’d used in my last delts session a few weeks a go, I was really motivated.

I’ve been reading a lot on Intermittent Fasting recently & although I do occasionally train fasted, I’ve never really incorporated it into my whole regime as a long running plan.  However, as of today I am doing just that.

I set off to the gym with nothing but some BCAA & whey/casein shake, with the slow cooker on ready for my return!

I have often had trouble with my delt training, as i have long suffered with rotator cuff problems, which always cause my stronger right side to fail before my left.  This ‘affliction’ can affect many of my workouts, whether it be presses for chest, pulldowns & pullups for back etc.

Despite this, I have a new found love of delt training since i started incorporating some of the principles of the system I have been working on, as the intensity is very high, yet the workouts are just long enough to cause the required stimulus.

I have to say that the session itself was a little disappointing. Not from an intensity point of view, but due to the weeks off, the weights I used were a little lighter than I had been able to use in my last workout.

When this is the case, it is much better to train smart than train with an ego.  Sure, I could probably of used the same, or even heavier dumbbells for my shoulder presses, but the form & the ‘stimulatory’ effect I would of gained would of been less than optimal, the use of other muscle groups would of come into play & as I was training ‘Delts’ & not Delts/Back/Chest, I felt the smart thing to do was to lower the weights a little, keep the intensity high & focus on the form & the stimulating the right muscle groups.

The key exercises for me today were;

  • Seated Dumbbell Presses
  • Upright Rows w/ Olympic Bar
  • Inclined Dumbbell Lateral Raises
  • Seated Smith Machine Presses

I am currently debating whether to incorporate a ‘Functional Fitness’ aspect to the system, as I feel there is no point having muscle mass if you can’t really do anything with it!  Therefore I will be trying a few things out during the following weeks.

I’m also hoping to purchase a video camera over the next few days & will begin filming workouts, as well as a video blog.

If there are any areas you would like me to cover, please go to my website http://www.totalbodysculpture.com & click on the contact tab.  Here you will find an easy to use form which you can utilise to ask for info.

Tomorrow is Hams & Quads, so here is to struggling to walk for a few days!!!

Leave a Reply

