Almond Butter, Moroccan Meatballs & a cheeky glass of red…

I’ve recently been trying to shake off a brachioradialis injury, which flares up every time I seem to train. To that end, i’ve been sorting out a lot of other areas of my life, clearing out clutter & preparing myself both physically & mentally for the next few months, which although I know I will enjoy (I love a good challenge & to push myself), they will be hard.

But today was all about preparation. Whilst sorting out nutritional plans for some clients, I found myself realising I was low on Almond Butter. Now, almond butter in Manchester is expensive. Raw almond butter even more so. So, why not make my own? I mean, how hard can it be?

It turns out, not very. So I did!

Buying up packets of organic, raw almonds I was ready.
To make it you do the following;

*Place the nuts in a processor and turn it on.
*That’s it….

Ok, so there is a little more to it, you do have to keep an eye on it, keep knocking it down from the sides when it builds up etc.
It will go through 3 distinct stages, crumbs, doughy & eventually creamy.
Adding as much or as little salt as you wish (I added a little Cornish Rock Salt) it allows you to cater to your own taste.

After I had made up a batch, i stuck it in a nice air proof jar & stuck it in the fridge, ready for adding to protein shakes, oats, nutella (well we all have our vices!)

 

After I had finished my work for the day, i set to cooking dinner, which I decided was going to be a nice healthy & nutritious meal (as always) so donning my Fit-Chef hat, I set to work on my popular Moroccan Meatballs.

These are really simple to make & are full of flavour as well as a nice meal to share!

Ingredients

  • 450g Minced Turkey Breast
  • 1 x Can (400g) Chopped Tomatoes
  • 1x Onion chopped
  • 1tsp Cumin Seeds
  • 1tsp Coriander Seeds
  • 1/2 tsp Turmeric
  • 1tsp Ground Cinnamon
  • 300ml Reduced Salt Chicken Stock
  • Flaked Almonds
  • 100g Oat Flour
  • Sea Salt & Freshly Cracked Black Pepper
  • 1x Smoked Turkey Rasher
  1. Add the oat flour & the turkey rasher to a blender, blending till fine.
  2. In a bowl add the flour and rasher to the turkey mince & season.
  3. Form balls with the mixture.
  4. In a large pan, cook the meatballs in 1 tbsp of oil for 4-5 mins or until browned
  5. Remove from the pan & add the onion and cook for 3-4 mins.
  6. Using a mortar & pestle, mix together the seeds & spices.
  7. Add the spices to the onions, cooking for a further minute.
  8. Add the tinned tomatoes and stock before bringing to the boil and reducing the heat.
  9. Add the meatballs back to the pan, season then cover & simmer for 20-25 mins or until the sauce has thickened & meatballs are cooked through.

I had these with couscous, which I had made with sundried tomatoes, garlic & soaked with 160ml chicken stock & flaked almonds on top.

As of Monday, I will be documenting both my nutrition & my training. I have a goal to reach, which has only increased in desire after recent conversations with the new WBFF Pro Muscle Model Champion, Micah Lacerte. Plus I start 12 weeks of EvO-XD Training, which I am confident is going to push me to my physical limits, as well as produce great results!

So stay tuned!!

Oh & if you want to know where the glass of red came into it….. what do you think I have in my hand as I write this? It is Friday night after all!!

Leave a Reply

